Frog Life Cycle For Kids

frog life cycle for kindergarten

Encourage children to act out the various stages in a frog’s life cycle. They can draw their own diagram, or use this printable life cycle worksheet with pictures as reference for cutting out.

Students can click and drag vocabulary words for kids’ frog life cycle vocabulary into the appropriate boxes, facilitating language acquisition especially among English Language Learners or students with IEPs.

Stage 1: Eggs

Nearly all frogs are amphibians and undergo metamorphosis during development, which involves physical changes. This frog life cycle for kids provides students with an introduction to this fascinating process as they see an egg hatch into an adult frog! With fun activities perfect for either classroom or home use, this lesson provides plenty of educational value!

This Frog Life Cycle for Kindergarten activity is an engaging way for young students to understand how frogs go through each stage of their lives. Interactive slides feature vocabulary words that can be dragged into boxes for each life stage – an engaging way for young children to learn new words!

Female frogs tend to place their eggs in peaceful waters near vegetation so that the eggs can develop safely. When time for hatching comes around, tadpoles will emerge and inhabit the water using poorly developed gills for breathing while eating algae and other water plants. After approximately one month, this form develops legs and starts looking more like an amphibian than ever; additionally they lose their tail and begin breathing through lungs instead.

Once a tadpole has reached maturity, they will emerge from their watery home and transition onto land – this marks an exciting change! Once this transition occurs, they will lay their own eggs, beginning the cycle all over again.

Use this frog life cycle poster in your classroom or home. It features all stages of life from eggs to adulthood and laminated for durability; an excellent way to teach children about frogs’ lives!

Add another dimension to your frog life cycle lessons with this Grow Your Own Frog Kit. Packed with everything needed for successful frog reproduction in the classroom, the kit works for any species or variety and works great as a group project or individual child project – simply follow the directions carefully when returning the frog back into its home pond when ready.

Stage 2: Tadpole

Once a frog emerges from its egg, they take the form of a tadpole – with gills, tail and jelly-like coating – feeding on small aquatic plants and algae for sustenance. As time progresses, its body undergoes various transformations leading to metamorphosis – becoming fully developed frogs as time goes on.

After some time, tadpoles begin to change, growing front legs and switching their diet from algae-based food sources to meat. Lungs develop, becoming more similar to those found in amphibians. Their tail still exists but now it is much shorter; this signifies an important change in their life cycle as they begin hopping around on land instead of swimming underwater. This transition process is essential in their life cycles.

If you have access to a pond, take your students outside and demonstrate what it would be like for them to see tadpoles up-close and discuss what they see. Bring one from home so they can observe its development during class time.

Once your students understand the tadpole stages of frog life, ask them to start cutting out pictures and gluing them onto a diagram. Be sure to explain that a tadpole represents the first stage in its journey towards becoming a fully fledged adult frog; discuss each additional stage as you add it onto your diagram.

Consider taking advantage of this free Life Cycle of a Frog Printable Pack as extra support, featuring vocabulary cards, cloze activities with each stage’s names filled in, report forms for 10 species of frogs, flashcards for tadpoles and puzzles; perfect for English Language Learners and IEPS students!

Once a tadpole has undergone metamorphosis, it becomes a young frog called a “froglet”. A froglet has four legs and an initial tail which eventually disappears over time; they can live both terrestrially and aquatically and prefer eating insects over plant matter for sustenance. Once mature enough to reproduce again, these froglets produce eggs which continue the cycle.

Stage 3: Froglet

Frogs go through numerous changes as they transform from juveniles into adults, known as metamorphosis. One effective way for teaching kids about this change is with a life cycle diagram; you can find one online or at your library; alternatively, make your own by cutting pictures out from colored construction paper and pasting them onto sections of the diagram.

Begin this activity by showing students a picture of a frog, discussing its different stages of development, and inviting them to guess which stage it is currently in – probably an egg, tadpole or froglet stage. Once done, read and act out a poem together while children fill in each of its four names for themselves! Finally, distribute handouts containing words to this poem so they can complete it themselves by filling in names for all four stages!

As soon as a frog has completed the tadpole stage for 7-10 days, it begins to grow legs and develop gills. After eating algae and plants for sustenance, it starts looking more like a fish than ever. At the same time, its tail continues to drop away.

Once it starts growing legs, a frog enters its “froglet stage,” roughly nine weeks after initial leg development begins. At this stage, it still looks similar to fish but has lungs for breathing both land and underwater. Over the following years and months, this stage will progress until becoming an adult frog which then returns back into the body of water it came from and begins laying its own eggs.

This easy and engaging frog life cycle for kindergarten is an engaging way to introduce this topic to young learners. Use it as part of a larger frog-themed unit, or just use it independently as extra practice with each stage in its lifecycle.

Stage 4: Frog

Frogs are amphibians that can live both on land and water, and as they grow they undergo metamorphosis – the process by which an organism changes into another form as it matures. While some animals remain unchanged after adulthood (such as fishes), others change drastically ( like frogs).

To introduce children to the different stages of frog lifecycle, diagrams or books from your library may help. Once your students understand it better, use an engaging cut-and-paste activity to make a lifecycle poster – great in classroom or homework settings!

Fertilization is the initial stage of the life cycle of frogs. At this point, sperm fertilize an egg, creating a dimple on its surface known as the blastopore that allows cells to migrate through and become dorsal mesoderm cells toward animal poles while other cells on egg surface become ectoderm layers that cover embryo.

Once a tadpole begins its development, it eats algae, leaves and other detritus found in water to fuel its growth. Over time it transforms into a fish-like creature equipped with gills and tail to aid its swim. When mature enough it begins shedding its tail while developing both front and back legs as well as lungs for breathing in both air and water simultaneously.

At this point, the tadpole is ready to undergo the transformation that leads to their metamorphosis; this transformation takes 14 weeks from hatching from its egg.

Frog life cycle begins with reproduction: spawning. Frogs produce hundreds of eggs at one time, yet only some will make it. Surviving froglets will have to compete for food and resources with one another at this stage; those most fit are more likely to grow into adulthood themselves and produce up to 4,000 eggs in just one season!

Scroll to Top