Understanding the Moon Phases in Order

the moon phases in order

The moon cycles through eight phases each month. Each phase changes the degree to which the Moon is illuminated by sunlight and its geometric appearance.

These moon phases are a great mnemonic to help you remember the moon’s cycle. Understanding the phases can lead to an abundance of fun facts about the moon, and its relationship to us!

New Moon

A new moon is the first of four primary lunar phases, which occur when the Moon is most nearly between the Sun and Earth for a particular month. At this point, the Moon’s shadowed side points toward the Earth, making it invisible to the naked eye except during a solar eclipse.

The new moon is the only phase when the Moon’s ecliptic longitude and horizon lines are aligned (i.e., 0 degrees, 90 degrees, 180 degrees, and 270 degrees). It also marks the beginning of an eclipse season, which occurs approximately every six months.

New moons often signify the start of a new cycle, and they’re an ideal time to set intentions or goals for the upcoming month. Developing rituals for the new moon can help you to tap into this energy and take advantage of its freshness.

During this time, it’s important to keep an open mind and not get too caught up in past issues. Instead, focus on letting go of what’s no longer working and moving into the future with confidence.

First Quarter

The first quarter phase occurs when the moon is 1/4 of the way through its 29.5-day cycle. This makes it a good time to see the stars and other celestial objects.

During the first quarter, you can still see the moon as it rises around midday and sets in the middle of the night, just like a Full Moon. The moon is not as bright in the sky, however, so stargazing prospects are diminished until later in the cycle.

It is a good idea to learn the name of each phase of the moon and how they are related to one another, so that you can remember them when you need to. You can also use a mnemonic (shape-ronym): NCQGF for the waxing phases and FGQCN for the waning phases to help you remember the order.

The primary phases of the moon are New Moon, First Quarter, Full Moon, and Last Quarter. These are defined based on the angular distance of the Moon from the Sun (called the ecliptic longitude).

Full Moon

The Full Moon is the most visible phase of the lunar cycle. It’s a time when the moon is closest to Earth in its orbit, which causes it to appear larger and brighter than normal.

The Moon orbits counterclockwise on an elliptical path around the Earth, but over time, it rocks slightly from north to south and wobbles a little from east to west, a phenomenon known as lunar libration. This effect makes the Moon appear to change size, though only about 59% of its surface is visible to a terrestrial observer from Earth at any given point in time.

As the moon travels from one orbit to the next, it’s also nearing points in its orbit where it is farthest away from Earth (known as apogee) or nearest to Earth (perigee). At perigee, full moons typically appear bigger and brighter, which is why they are called supermoons.

It’s not uncommon for people to believe that the full moon has a direct impact on their behavior and mental health. But there’s no science to back up the claim. Instead, it’s a cultural tradition that can be traced back to ancient times.

Last Quarter

The Last Quarter (also known as the Third Quarter) is the Moon’s final primary phase. It’s called this because the Moon has completed three-quarters of its orbit around Earth and only has one more to make a full circle.

At this stage, the Moon is half-lit. In the Northern Hemisphere, the left half is illuminated; in the Southern Hemisphere, the right half is illuminated.

This is a very important phase of the Moon cycle because it indicates that we’re halfway between the New Moon and the Full Moon. It’s also the time when people begin to delve into their deeper selves.

It’s also a good time to practice manifesting changes in your life by using your intuition and sensory responses. For example, you might want to use massage and aromatherapy during this phase. You can also spend some time in meditation during this phase to contemplate your current relationship and what it means for you. This is a great time to start overcoming any obstacles that may be in your way!

Waxing Crescent

The waxing crescent occurs right after the New Moon, and it’s that small sliver of light we see when the moon is coming out of darkness to grow larger. This is an astrological phase that encourages optimism and a chance at a fresh start.

The Waxing Crescent is an intermediate Moon phase that starts after the New Moon and lasts until the First Quarter, which is about a week later. At this phase, the amount of illuminated surface on the Moon rises from 0 to 50%.

This is the same percentage as seen during the New and Full Moon phases. The Waxing Crescent is an astrological time to focus on getting things done. It’s also a good time to jump on any opportunities that come your way. It’s an excellent time to finish projects that you’ve been putting off, or to reach goals at work or in your personal life.

Waxing Gibbous

The waxing gibbous is the fourth phase of the lunar cycle. It occurs between the first quarter and full moon phases.

This phase is a time for finalization and completion. It’s a chance to see the fruits of your labor and feel the satisfaction that comes with it.

You might feel a strong urge to make changes in your life during this phase, especially when it comes to your work and studies. Whether or not you choose to go with that impulse is up to you.

In any case, this is a great time to set new goals and focus on what you want. However, be careful not to overdo it and let your natural tendencies take over.

This phase is a great opportunity to make progress on projects that have been stuck or stalled for a long time. You might find that some sacrifices will be necessary in order to get there.

Waning Square

The waxing square between the Sun and Saturn represents a period of refinement in the soul’s individuation. This time of re-evaluation and self-refinement is a natural part of the process, but it can also lead to a crisis if we are not prepared for it.

This phase can be a very karmic one, wrapping up the stories of your past lives and clearing the way for your next. It can be a difficult phase, and it may feel heavy on the heart, but it is in fact one of the most spiritual phases that you will experience.

This is a great time to review your goals and make the necessary changes to reach them. It’s important to stay focused and see your plans through, even if it means pushing yourself to do things that might seem counterintuitive. This phase will help you get the most out of your life and your potential. You will have a lot of motivation as you push toward your goal, so don’t hesitate to put that energy into action.

Waning Hemisphere

The Moon goes through a number of phases as it orbits Earth. It starts out in a crescent phase, then changes to a gibbous phase, then finishes the cycle with a full Moon.

As the Moon passes through these stages, a portion of its disc will be illuminated. Observers in the Northern Hemisphere will see the right side of the Moon lit up during the waxing phases, and the left side during the waning stages.

For Southern Hemisphere observers, the same thing happens. The entire left side is almost fully illuminated, while the right side is in darkness. The lit area gradually shrinks each day until it reaches the point where it looks like a thin crescent on the left, and the full disk is in total darkness on the right.

These are the principal phases of a Moon cycle, but there are also intermediate phases in between them that make up a full lunar month. In western culture, we divide the cycle into four primary and four intermediate Moon phases.

Scroll to Top